Logged in as Guest
Your shopping cart is empty.

 

  Reservations for our 2017-2018 field trip performances are now open. Book early to avoid being put on the waitlist!

Reservation notes:

  • School performances are for student groups of 20 or more.
  • Tickets for our 2017-2018 shows range from $9 to $10 per person, tax included.
  • Adults, including teachers, must purchase a ticket and be included in the total reservation.
  • No children 3 years of age or younger are permitted to attend school performances
  • Click here to read the full School Performance Terms and Conditions.

For more booking details, call School Performance Coordinator, Arlethia Hailstock at 704-973-2829 or email arlethiah@ctcharlotte.org.

2017-18 School Performance Schedule

 

Mary Poppins

Disney & Cameron Mackintosh's

Mary Poppins


Oct. 4 to Oct. 27, 2017
McColl Family Theatre

Recommended for first grade and older


A musical based on the stories of P.L. Travers and the Walt Disney Film
Original Music and Lyrics by Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman
Book by Julian Fellowes
New Songs and Additional Music and Lyrics by George Stiles and Anthony Drewe
Co-Created by Cameron Mackintosh
Disney and Cameron Mackintosh’s Mary Poppins Is presented through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI). All authorized performance materials are also supplied by MTI.www.MTIShows.com

 Approximate length: 2 1/2 hours (includes a brief stretch break)
Winds in the east, mist coming in. Like somethin’ is brewin’ and ‘bout to begin.
 
One of the most popular Disney stories of all time is capturing hearts in a whole new way: as a “Practically Perfect” musical! Based on the books by P.L. Travers and the classic Walt Disney film, Mary Poppins delighted audiences on Broadway. Now, the mysterious nanny flies into Children’s Theatre of Charlotte, where she’ll use a “spoonful of sugar” and a little magic to help the troubled Banks family come together again. Mary Poppins turns England upside down with the help of Burt, Mrs. Corry, park statues and other friends. Join us and the Banks family for a supercalifragilisticexpialidocious time!

School performance schedule
  • Wednesday,  Oct. 4 at 9:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 5 at 9:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 6 at 9:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Oct. 11 at 9:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 12 at 9:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 13 at 9:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Oct. 18 at 9:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 19 at 9:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 20 at 9:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Oct. 25 at 9:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 26 at 9:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 27 at 9:45 a.m.
The Snowy Day and Other Stories

The Snowy Day and Other Stories

Oct. 25 to Nov. 10, 2017
Wells Fargo Playhouse

Recommended for preschool and older


Ezra Jack Keats, author
Jerome Hairston, playwright

 Approximate length: 75 minutes


 
Based on the 1963 Caldecott Medal-winning book by acclaimed author and illustrator Ezra Jack Keats, The Snowy Day and Other Stories will whisk your family into the classic storybook. This charming, intimate show follows a young boy as he joyfully experiences the first snowfall of the year. Join Peter and his dog, Willie, for a day of exploration and imagination. Fifty-five years since it was originally published, The Snowy Day remains a deeply loved and profoundly influential story. 

School performance schedule
  • Wednesday,  Oct. 25 at 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 26 at 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 27 at 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 31 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Nov. 1 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Nov. 2 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Nov. 3 at 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 7 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Nov. 8 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Nov. 9 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Nov. 10 at 10 a.m.

Request a booking
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever: The Musical

The Best Christmas Pageant Ever: The Musical

Nov. 29 to Dec. 15, 2017
McColl Family Theatre

Recommended for first grade and older


by Jahnna Beecham and Malcolm Hillgartner
Adapted from the play by Barbara Robinson

 Approximate length: 70 minutes 

 
Back by popular demand is Children’s Theatre of Charlotte’s most-popular show of all time!
 
The Herdmans are ready to wreak havoc! What happens when the “worst kids in the history of the world” find out about free food at Sunday school? Worse yet, what happens when they decide to audition for the annual Christmas pageant? This could be the worst pageant ever… if it even happens! This hilarious and heartfelt musical comedy, adapted from Barbara Robinson’s classic story, will have your family laughing and crying as we celebrate the holidays.
 
A student cast, many of whom come from Children’s Theatre of Charlotte’s School of Theatre Training, performs with professional adult actors.

School performance schedule
  • Wednesday,  Nov. 29 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Nov. 30 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Dec. 1 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Dec. 6 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Dec. 7 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Dec. 8 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Dec. 13 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Dec. 14 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Dec. 15 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Request a booking
Mr. Popper's Penguins

Mr. Popper's Penguins

Jan. 9 to Jan. 19, 2018
Wells Fargo Playhouse

Recommended for kindergarten through second grade


Book by Robert Kauzlaric
Music & Lyrics by George Howe
Based on the novel by Richard & Florence Atwater

 Approximate length: 60 minutes
Mr. Popper spend his time daydreaming of adventures in far-off lands while Mrs. Popper scrimps and saves to put beans on the table. When a spirited penguin arrives on their doorstep, a new horizon (and flock!) opens before them! Come along for an unforgettable adventure in this 1930s-inspired musical based on the classic book.

School performance schedule
  • Tuesday, Jan. 9 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Jan. 10 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Jan. 11 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Jan. 12 at 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Jan. 16 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Jan. 17 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Jan. 18 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Jan. 19 at 10 a.m.
The Imaginators

The Imaginators

Jan. 23 to Feb. 2, 2018
Wells Fargo Playhouse

Recommended for third through fifth grade


by Dwayne Hartford

 Approximate length: 60 minutes
Tim is a playful 9-year-old, while his sister Anne is a serious 10-year-old. When their family moves to a new town, Anne refused to play with Tim fearing the kids in her new school will make fun of her. When Anne and Tim meet the inventive girl next door, Nina Frances Elizabeth Vanderhelden, they have little choice but to join her on an imaginative adventure they’ll never forget.

School performance schedule
  • Tuesday, Jan. 23 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Jan. 24 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Jan. 25 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Jan. 26 at 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Jan. 30 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Jan. 31 at 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m.
  • Thursday, Feb. 1 at 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m.
  • Friday, Feb. 2 at 9:45 a.m.
And in This Corner: Cassius Clay

And in This Corner: Cassius Clay

Jan. 31 to Feb. 16, 2018
McColl Family Theatre

Recommended for third grade and older


by Idris Goodwin

 Approximate length: 80 minutes

 
At the sound of the bell, young Cassius Clay Jr. takes his first step into the ring and starts becoming the man the world will one day know as Muhammad Ali. This vibrant historical drama takes the audience through the iconic boxer’s early life in Jim Crow-era Louisville, Kentucky. And in This Corner: Cassius Clay goes an extra, exhilarating round by exploring how remarkable communities inspire people to greatness.

School performance schedule
  • Wednesday,  Jan. 31 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Feb. 1 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Feb. 2 at 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Feb. 6 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Feb. 7 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Feb. 8 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Feb. 9 at 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Feb. 13 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Feb. 14 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Thursday, Feb. 15 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
  • Friday, Feb. 16 at 10 a.m.
Balloonacy

Balloonacy


Feb. 6 to Feb. 9, 2018
Wells Fargo Playhouse

Recommended for preschool through first grade


by Barry Kornhauser

 Approximate length: 40 minutes
A mischievous balloon finds its way into the home of a solitary old man, and suddenly his curmudgeonly life is interrupted. Sweet, inventive and packed with physical comedy, this 40-minute play explores the power of friendship and shows how, with a little imagination and acceptance, companionship can be found in the most unlikely of places.

School performance schedule
  • Tuesday, Feb. 6 at 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday,  Feb. 7 at 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m.
  • Thursday, Feb. 8 at 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m.
  • Friday, Feb. 9 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Caleb Sigmon Live! Nothing Up My Sleeve

Caleb Sigmon Live! Nothing Up My Sleeve


March 1 to March 2, 2018 
McColl Family Theatre

Recommended for kindergarten and older


 Approximate length: 60 minutes
 
Caleb Sigmon’s one-man illusion show, Nothing Up My Sleeve, is filled with adrenaline-rushing music and a soulful, thrilling storyline. Journey along with Caleb as he combines hilarious and moving stories from his life with spectacular magic. During the show, Caleb makes a daring escape, plays with the weather, predicts the future and then travels back in time, taking the entire audience with him. Nothing Up My Sleeve is a 60-minute show filled with heart and adventure.

School performance schedule
Thursday, March 1 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Friday, March 2 at 10 a.m.
 
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

March 7 to April 13, 2018
Wells Fargo Playhouse

Recommended for first grade and older


From the story by C.S. Lewis
Dramatized by le Clanché du Rand

 Approximate length: 55 minutes

 
Travel through the magical wardrobe to Narnia in this clever two-person adaptation of C. S. Lewis’ acclaimed tale. Lucy and Peter recount their adventures, portraying each character they met in the faraway land of Narnia. Join the two siblings on their journey as they battle the evil White Witch, meet the mystical Aslan and attempt to save Narnia in this intimate and unique theatrical experience!

School performance schedule
Wednesday, March 7 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Thursday, March 8 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Friday, March 9 at 10 a.m.
Tuesday, March 13 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Wednesday, March 14 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Thursday, March 15 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Friday, March 16 at 10 a.m.
Tuesday, March 20 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Wednesday, March 21 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Thursday, March 22 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Friday, March 23 at 10 a.m.
Tuesday, March 27 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Wednesday, March 28 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Thursday, March 29 at 10 a.m.
Friday, March 30 at 10 a.m.
Tuesday, April 3 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Wednesday, April 4 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Thursday, April 5 at 10 a.m.
Friday, April 6 at 10 a.m.
Tuesday, April 10 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Wednesday, April 11 at 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m.
Thursday, April 12 at 10 a.m.
Friday, April 13 at 9:45 a.m.
Madagascar - A Musical Adventure

Madagascar - A Musical Adventure

April 11 to May 4, 2018
McColl Family Theatre

Recommended for kindergarten through Second Grade


Based on the DreamWorks Animation Motion Picture
Book by Kevin Del Aguila
Original Music and Lyrics by George Noriega & Joel Someillan
Madagascar – A Musical Adventure is presented through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI). All authorized performance materials are also supplied by MTI. www.MTIShows.com

 Approximate length: 75 minutes
Join Alex the Lion, Marty the Zebra, Melman the Giraffe, Gloria the Hippo and, of course, those hilarious, plotting penguins as they bound onto the stage in the musical adventure of a lifetime. Based on the smash DreamWorks animated motion picture, Madagascar – A Musical Adventure follows all of your favorite crack-a-lackin’ friends as they escape from their home in New York City’s Central Park Zoo and find themselves on an unexpected journey to the madcap world of King Julien’s Madagascar. Filled with outlandish characters, adventure galore and an upbeat score, audiences won’t be able to help getting out of their seats to “Move It, Move It!”

School performance schedule
Wednesday,  April 11 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Thursday, April 12 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Friday, April 13 at 10 a.m.
Tuesday, April 17 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Wednesday,  April 18 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Thursday, April 19 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Friday, April 20 at 10 a.m.
Tuesday, April 24 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Wednesday,  April 25 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Thursday, April 26 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Friday, April 27 at 10 a.m.
Tuesday, May 1 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Wednesday,  May 2 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Thursday, May 3 at 9:45 a.m. and 11:45 a.m.
Friday, May 4 at 10 a.m. 
 

Want the latest news and offers?

Join our e-Club to get news about special offers on tickets, classes and camps!